Choc Blog

A Chocoholic’s Forays into Chocolate World

Can chocolate keep you awake?

sleeponlaptop.jpgI don’t know about you but it sure do keep me awake!

Unlike the general population who depended on coffee to keep their eyes cracked open, I don’t like coffee. Well, I don’t see the point of drinking a bitter brew just to keep awake. I remember trying to down a cup of coffee with loads of sugar and milk and still it tasted horrid to me. Before coffee lovers start throwing coffee beans at me, let me say in my defense that I have a very low ‘bitter threshold’. As in, I can’t take anything too bitter (well, except for bitter chocolate which I absolutely love but that is another story…). Anyway to cut a long story short, I don’t drink coffee in the mornings. Nor in the afternoons or evenings. I don’t drink coffee, period. The only time I bring myself to drink coffee is when it is a frappucino from Starbucks (even then, I prefer the chocolate one rather than the coffee ones).

So this brings me to the subject matter. Why do I say chocolate keeps me awake? Simple, it was tried and tested to be true…for me. Recently, I have a load of work which includes building up my chocolate website so I had to work real late into the night. In the first few weeks, I snacked on chocolate often (after everyone else has gone to bed…heh heh…) when I worked late till about 3am on a daily basis. I was not sleepy and raring to go all the time…well, except in the daytime when I am without my chocolate fix.

Then about a week ago, I decided to cut down. It is not helping my waistline to be consuming every single bar of chocolate in my fridge and cupboard. I was even gorging on my expensive imported gourmet chocolates which I was keeping to slowly savor in a chocolate tasting session. So, I stopped eating chocolates. Entirely. The end result, I was sleepy and falling asleep in front of my computer. I was nodding off by midnight and calling it a night by 1am. This is not good for my freelance work, not to say my cocoa-chocolate.com website which is still in the midst of construction.

So, last night I started snacking on chocolates again. Wonders of wonders, I stayed up till 4am without a single yawn!

 

Now, I know, scientifically, chocolate do contain caffeine but not as much as coffee. The amount of caffeine found in a 30g chocolate bar is about 6mg per ounce of chocolate. So, it is not really a substitute for coffee but hey, it worked for me and it is darn good too!

So, do please excuse me while I go stock up on my chocolate supplies…

February 3, 2008 - Posted by | all about chocolate, Anything Else About Chocolate, chocoholic, chocolate facts | , , , , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. haha hi

    Comment by jammina | November 13, 2008

  2. Haha, am I glad I’m not the only one! I don’t like to drink coffee either but it has a great aroma (and that’s the closest I get to liking it).

    Chocolate does keep me awake, so I avoid it at night so I can wake up on time in the mornings… but man is it hard to resist. I also noticed dark chocolate’s effect is worse, must be the higher cocoa concentration.

    Ciao, and hope I get to the store before you do XD

    Comment by Shalini | August 27, 2009

  3. Totally believe chocolate can help us with our freelance work : )

    I was snacking on choco chip cookie dough last night and was getting some writing done at 3:00 a.m.

    Comment by Brian H. | December 23, 2010

  4. Wanker

    Comment by Ster | February 5, 2011

  5. Hi – It is actually the Theobromine in the pure cocoa that will keep ou up. It is a more mild, slow stimulant with long lasting effects.

    Comment by Jessica | May 1, 2011

  6. Jessica is correct, Theobromine is the active component in choc having a very similar molecular structure to caffeine, but there is no natural caffeine in Chocolate.

    Comment by Jon Bywater | September 30, 2011

  7. That was very instructional piece of writing.

    Comment by Provident Fund Status | November 3, 2011

  8. This surely makes perfect sense to me..

    Comment by Business Directory | November 21, 2011

  9. Certainly keeps me awake, I seem to be more sensitive to chocolate than coffee. I can’t eat chocolate at least 3hrs before bedtime but with coffee it’s only about an hour.

    What puzzles me is that a heaped teaspoon of cocoa in warm milk at bedtime does nothing, I can go straight to sleep!

    Comment by John | April 12, 2012

  10. This site explains it nicely. The stimulation is not due to caffeine but to another stimulent called theobromine which is actually longer lasting.
    Ah-hah!

    http://www.xocoatl.org/caffeine

    Comment by John | April 18, 2012

  11. Actually, chocolate doesn’t contain caffeine naturally (it is added to some products) it contains theobromine, another stimulant. http://www.xocoatl.org/caffeine.htm Just FYI. Sensitive to stimulants, so I’ve researched it…still eat chocolate though!

    Comment by Jennifer | February 23, 2013


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

